5 years

I wish it would have been an April Fool’s joke, but it wasn’t. On April 1, 2010, I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia. My nightmare, my monster finally had a name. Not a day goes by where I am not fighting against this illness. It wore me down to the point of severe depression a year ago. Every day is a challenge! No day is alike. My symptoms sure have changed in the course of five years. Some keep getting worse and new ones appear, seemingly out of nowhere. It is extremely frustrating, not knowing for sure, if a new symptom is related to fibromyalgia or something completely different. I have changed so much, not just physically, but mentally. The struggle is real! I am fighting every day to keep a part of my old self. I don’t want to change or loose control. It is a battle for me to understand, that I am unable to do certain things that I did before. I am pushing myself too much every day, just to prove that I’m still the old me.

5 very long years. I should be celebrating. Celebrating that I am still here, that I was and will be able to fight through the challenges!

This entry was posted in my day to day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

